TMR Mt Buller Sprints 2009

TMR take 1-2 at Mt Buller Sprints December 2009

Mitsubishi Evolutions prepared by TMR Australia have taken out first and second place at last weekend’s 2009 Pacific Hire Mt Buller Sprint.

Held in the Victorian ski town, the Mt Buller Sprint is Australia’s premier tarmac hillclimb event and attracted almost 80 entries from modern to classic.
The event was also the opening round of the 2010 Australian tarmac championship.
Over 10 stages of the 16km course, the TMR Australia built Evo X Club Spec of Dean Evans and Simone Bachmann claimed victory in the Showroom class and an impressive 10th outright, while Scott Millar and Chris Dean’s Hyperactive Designs Evo X RS finished second in Showroom, completing a TMR 1-2.

Evans’ Club Spec ran the dual-clutch SST gearbox with paddle-shift and ran a best time of 8:56, while Millar’s RS manual’s best time of 9:16 kept him in a solid second place.“It took a little time to reprogram my brain and fingers, but I really learned to love the SST gearbox,” explained Evans. “With launch control it’s a rocket off the line every time, and given the immediate shifts, we’re picking up time over the manual with every shift – and at Mt Buller there must be more than 100 of those.”
The Club Spec is an entry level motorsport package for the Evo X that is designed and developed by TMR Australia. The package includes a bolt-in roll-cage, competition springs, TMR muffler and ECU retune from 217kW to 270kW.

Evans and Millar firmed part of a six-car TMR team, competing for honours in different categories.One unfortunate casualty of the event was Glyn Crimp’s West Evo X that crashed on the final day and rolled down a steep embankment. However its structural integrity and TMR roll cage protected the crew and allowed them to walk away unharmed. TMR’s next major event will be the Bathurst 12 Hour in January, where it will attempt to defend its 2007/2009 wins.


Leave a Reply